1. Seasonal Phase
Important: This Phase is performed on Seasonal Turns only.
1.1 Option Card Segment
Each player should designate a space on the table for his Current Card (which is face up) and Pending Card (which is face down). It must be clear to all players at all times which cards are Current Cards and which are Pending Cards.
Players are not allowed to examine another player’s cards before they have been played. Players may share or withhold information about their own cards with other players at their own discretion.
All players are free to examine all discarded cards at any time.
© In AE, each faction will have a Current Card and Pending Card on each map. TK cards are used on the TK map. DS cards are used on the DS map.
1.1.1 Option Card Procedure
Step 1: The phasing faction discards its Current Card. If the card has a symbol that indicates it is a recyclable (♺) card, it is returned to the faction’s deck for possible future play. If the card does not have such a symbol, it is set aside and cannot be played again.
Step 2: The phasing faction reveals its Pending Card. The card is turned face up on the table in view of all players. This option card becomes the faction’s new Current Card.
As this card is revealed, any interned units (16.7) on its back are repatriated back to the map as per Placing Replacements (1.3.4).
After the phasing faction places any repatriated units, it must verify the card played was in compliance with its Option Card Selection Restrictions (1.1.1) at the time it was selected. If found with an illegal Current Card, it must immediately return that card to its hand and will not have a Current Card this Season. Important: This returned card is not considered to be played.
In addition, if the Axis faction makes an illegal Current Card play during Pre-War or Limited War, either Allied faction may declare that Total War (12.3) immediately goes into effect.
This can be really bad for the Axis, so if your opponent made an honest mistake, the sporting thing to do would be to pass on starting Total War. The intention behind this penalty is to prevent crafty players from selecting illegal cards to extend Limited War.
© If the phasing faction legally plays an option card with a © symbol, it must remove the identically named card found in its other deck.
© Example: : If the Soviet faction reveals DS card 11b Siberian Reserves Released, it must remove TK card 26b Siberian Reserves Released.
Step 3: The phasing faction performs any actions listed under Option Card Segment on the Current Card, in the order listed. See 1.1.2.
Step 4: The phasing faction selects a Pending Card to play in his next Seasonal Phase. See 1.1.3.
ast; Step 5: If the phasing faction is the Soviet* faction, it must check its Current Card’s Production Value to see if there is an increase or decrease to the ESV. See 1.1.4.
1.1.2 Option Card Segment Actions
The phasing faction performs any actions listed under the Option Card Segment on the Current Option Card, in the order listed.
Some actions may call for removing other option cards. An option card may be played even if a required card has already been discarded. However, if a card says to remove a certain type of card (for example, Axis Imperial Directive cards) that exists in both the faction’s hand and the discard pile, the faction must remove a card from its hand.
Some actions may call for rolling on a table, selecting or activating a country, etc. These actions are all performed, in the order specified, before moving on to the next step. Important: If you are rolling on a table, you must add any Political DRMs (1.1.2.1) that apply unless the event specifically instructs you otherwise.
Some results on Political Events Tables will direct players to another Political Events Table. If this happens, roll the die again, apply Political DRMs and compare the result to the appropriate table. If directed to yet another Political Event Table, continue rolling (still applying Political DRMs) until some final result is obtained.
A final result is any result that does not call for rolling on another Table. If the final result is an italicized Political Event, look it up in the appropriate rules section for instructions on how to apply it.
1.1.2.1 Political DRMs
Political DRMs must be applied to all die rolls made in the Option Card Segment and the Political Events Segment unless specifically stated otherwise. Political DRMs cannot be applied to any die rolls made in other Segments, again unless specifically stated otherwise. Political DRMs are cumulative. The DRMs are as follows:
- △ +1 for each VP in the Box containing the VP marker if it reads Rising Sun.
- –1 for each VP in the Box containing the VP marker if it reads Allied Crusade.
- –? for the Political DRM based on the location of the European USCL marker on the USCL Track.
- If a Country with an Influence or Neutrality marker is selected for an event requiring a die roll, apply the indicated +1 or –1 DRM. DRMs for Influence and Neutrality markers apply only to rolls directly involving that country. Specifically, this means rolls on the Diplomatic Incident Table, International Crisis Table, or any Current Card table.
Sometimes rolls will take you to different tables or different countries. If that happens, the Influence or Neutrality DRM that was in force for the first roll doesn’t “carry over.”
Example: The Axis faction plays card 33a Treaty. It selects Hopeh, which has an Axis Influence marker with a +1 DRM. The VP marker reads Rising Sun, but it is in the 0 VP Box. The US has not entered the war yet, so the USCL is 0. So the total DRM for this roll is +1. The Axis faction rolls a 1, which is modified to 2. Looking at the card, the result says “Roll on Diplomatic Incident Table.” This next roll also has a +1 DRM. The Axis rolls a 5, which becomes a 6. This result is “Roll on Colonialism Table.” The roll on that table will have a 0 DRM, because Influence marker DRMs don’t apply to rolls there.
1.1.2.2 Reinforcements
After the faction’s Pending Card has been placed, check if the Current Card enters new units into the faction’s Force Pool, the Delay Box, or the Strategic Warfare Box:
- Add to Force Pool: All counters listed are placed in the faction’s Force Pool.
- Place in Delay Box: All counters listed are placed in the Delay Box. These pieces will be available on a future turn based on their Delay Result (7.1).
- Place in Strategic Warfare Box: All counters listed are placed in the Strategic Warfare Box.
Units are placed as reinforcements only if they have not already entered play or been removed from the game.
A faction’s Current Card may list counters belonging to Major Countries or Minor Countries. Major Country units are always received. Minor Country units are received only if that country is an active Minor Country aligned with the faction.
Example: The Western faction plays card 43a Sextant Conference. This card places a Kiangsu and Szechwan infantry unit in the Delay Box. If one of those countries is not an active Western Minor Country, its infantry unit would not be placed.
© Important: A counter that enters play by a DS card must be placed in a DS Force Pool, Delay Box, or Strategic Warfare Box.
You can’t immediately enter counters from a DS card into a TK Pool or Box. Counters that enter through TK cards or rules likewise must start out in the Europe.
1.1.3 Pending Card Selection
The card must be from those currently in its hand. This card is placed face down on the table and becomes the faction’s Pending Card.
Card selection is final. Once a faction has selected a card and placed it as its Pending Card, it is bound to that card.
A faction that finds it cannot select any option card without violating a restriction must say so. It will not select a Pending Card and thus will not reveal a new Current Card during its next Seasonal Phase.
1.1.3.1 Pending Card Selection Requirements
Before selecting a particular card, carefully check any Selection Requirements listed under that card’s name. Many cards cannot be selected unless certain conditions exist.
Each condition that must be met is listed next to a 🗹 symbol. When more than one condition is listed, all conditions must be met to select the card.
Example:Look at the Selection Requirements on Western card 19a Aid to China. It cannot be selected unless both card 18a Quarantine Address has been played, and Nationalist China’s Posture is War.
When an individual condition lists multiple requirements separated by an “or,” the condition is considered met if any or all of the requirements are met.
Example: Western card 5 Cash & Carry Bill has a Selection Requirement that reads “Pre-War is not in effect, or European Limited War has occurred.” The card may be selected if either or both of those statements are true.
△ The Japanese Government: Many Axis cards have a Selection Requirement based on whether the Japanese Army or Navy is “leading the Government.”
The Japanese Government marker has two sides: Army and Navy. When the Government marker is in its Holding Box (on the Axis Force Pool Display), the side that is face up is “leading the government.” When the marker is in the Delay Box or the Turn Track, no branch is “leading the government.”
Example: The Axis faction can select card 3 Army Program only if the Navy is not “leading the government.” That is, the Government marker must be Army-side up or not in the Government Holding Box at all.
To play card 8 Demand Inner Mongolia, the Army must be leading the government. If the Government marker is not in the Holding Box with the Army side face up, the Axis faction cannot select this card.
△* European War: Many cards have a selection requirement based on “European Limited War” or “European Total War.”
European Limited War has occurred if *the European Limited War marker is in a European War Box, or ©the TK War State is Limited War.
European Total War has occurred if *a European Total War marker is in a European War Box, or ©the TK War State is Total War.
1.1.3.2 War State Selection Restrictions
While Pre-War is in Effect: A faction can only select a blue Pre-War card.
While Limited War is in Effect: A faction can only select a blue Pre- War card or gray Limited War card.
While Total War is in Effect: A faction can select a blue Pre-War, gray Limited War or red Total War card.
1.1.3.3 Other Selection Restrictions
Sequential Selection Restrictions: A faction cannot select a particular type of card listed below as its Pending Card if its Current Card is the same type:
- Axis: Demand cards
- △ Axis: Diplomatic Overtures cards
- Western: Limited War Blitz cards
Axis Demand and Diplomatic Overtures cards have the words “Demand” or “Diplomatic Overtures” in their names, respectively.
What this means is that you can’t play these cards “back-to-back.” For example, if the Axis Current Card is Diplomatic Overtures (card 11), then another Diplomatic Overtures (card 12) cannot be selected as the Axis Pending Card.
Because of the strict sequencing of the Option Card Procedure (1.1.1), you won’t be able to play recyclable (♺) cards like Western card 22 Chinese War Production “back-to-back” when there is only one of that card in your deck.
Annual Selection Restrictions: A faction cannot reveal a particular type of card listed below more than once per calendar year.
- Axis: Rearmament cards
- Western: Rearmament cards
- Soviet: Rearmament cards
- Soviet: Offensive cards
- △ Soviet: War Progress cards
Rearmament cards have a hammer-and-wrench (🛠) symbol. Soviet Offensive and War Progress cards have the words “Offensive” or “War Progress” (respectively) in their titles.
For determining the “calendar year” of a Winter season, use the Nov-Dec turn.
A faction can play one of these cards in 1937, one in 1938, and so on. If the Axis faction reveals a Rearmament card in Nov-Dec 1937, it can select another Rearmament card as its Pending Card because that won’t be revealed until the Mar-Apr 1938 turn.
© Theater Selection Restrictions: A faction cannot select a TK card for its DS Pending Card, nor can it select a TK card for its DS Pending Card.
When selecting TK and DS Pending Cards, a faction cannot select identically named option cards with © symbols in their upper left-hand corners during the same season.
© Example: If the Soviet faction wishes to select TK card 26b Siberian Reserves Released, it cannot select DS card 11b Siberian Reserves Released in the same turn.
Provided it is abiding by its Production Limit (see below), the Soviet faction can select TK card 23 Limited War Production and DS card 24 Limited War Production. Although these cards have identical names, they do not have © symbols.
© Soviet Production Limit Restrictions: Each Soviet option card has a Production Value printed in a black circle in the upper left-hand corner. When selecting TK and DS Pending Cards, their combined Production Value cannot exceed the Soviet Production Limit.
If Pre-War or Limited War is in effect on both maps, the Soviet Production Limit is 1.
If Total War is in effect on either or both maps, the Soviet Production Limit is 3.
© Example: Total War is in effect on the TK map, and Russia’s Posture is War on both maps. If the Soviet faction selects TK card 38 Total War Production, the card’s Production Value of 3 won’t allow any card with a Production Value greater than 0 to be selected in DS.
So the Soviet faction selects TK card 39 Total War Production instead, a 2-point Production Value card. That allows it to play DS card 24 Limited War Production, which has a Production Value of 1.
* 1.1.4 Soviet Current Card ESV Adjustment
Each Soviet option card has a Production Value, printed in a black circle in the upper left-hand corner.
When revealing its new Current Card each Seasonal Turn, the Soviet faction must consult the Current Card ESV Adjustment Table (printed on its Force Pool) to see if there is an adjustment to the ESV.
Look up the appropriate line based on the current DS War State and the Production Value of the Current Card. If an ESV adjustment is listed, use the “No War” adjustment if there is no War marker in the Soviet European War Box. If there is a War marker there, use the “War” adjustment instead.
* In Spring 1939, the Soviet faction reveals card 16 Pre-War Production. Limited War is in effect in DS, and there is no War marker in the Soviet European War Box. According to the Soviet Current Card PSV Adjustment table, the ESV is increased by 1.
1.2 Logistics / Partisan Segment
The phasing faction may place or remove one Logistics and any number of Partisan Base markers it may have.
These markers serve as locations where you can place Replacements, so they’re very useful.
1.2.1 Logistics Markers
Each faction has one or more Logistics markers. The phasing faction may either place or remove one Logistics marker on the map. It cannot do both in the same Seasonal Marker Placement Segment.
If a Logistics marker is in its Force Pool, the phasing faction may place it on the map per these placement limitations:
- △ Axis: Place in any City hex containing a Japanese ground unit that can trace a supply line to a supply source in Japan. Additionally, the Kwantung Logistics marker can only be placed in Manchukuo or Korea; furthermore, the selected area must be a Japanese Dependent.
- Soviet: Place in any Road or Rail hex that contains or is adjacent to a Russian HQ unit that can trace an overland supply line (10.2) to a supply source in Russia.
- △ Western: Place in a City hex containing a supplied US ground unit. The City hex cannot be in a British Dependent on the West Map.
If a Logistics Marker is on the map, the phasing faction may leave it there or pick it up and place it in the Delay Box.
This means you won’t be able to place it back on the map until your next Logistics / Partisan Segment, at the earliest.
Logistics Marker Placement Restrictions:
- A Logistics marker cannot be placed in a hex containing an enemy unit, Detachment, or Logistics marker.
- A Logistics marker cannot be placed in a hex that already contains a friendly Logistics marker.
- A Logistics marker can be placed in a hex with a friendly Detachment marker, but the Detachment marker is immediately placed in the Delay Box.
Removing Logistics Markers: If an enemy ground unit or Airdrop marker enters a hex containing only a Logistics marker during any Movement or Combat Phase, the Logistics marker is placed in the Delay Box. The enemy ground unit or Airdrop marker can then proceed normally.
Shooing away a Logistics marker does not slow down the unit in any way.
1.2.2 Partisan Base Markers
The Allied factions may receive Partisan Base markers through Political Event results. An Allied faction can place and/or remove a friendly Partisan Base marker as restricted below.
More than one Partisan Base can be placed in the same Logistics / Partisan Segment, although no more than one can be placed in a single Conquered Allied Minor Country per Logistics / Partisan Segment.
1.2.2.1 Partisan Base Placement
If a Partisan Base is in its Force Pool, the Allied faction may place it in any Rough or City hex (see Terrain Key) in any Conquered Allied Minor Country.
You can place a Partisan Base in a Conquered Minor Country belonging to the other Allied faction.
You cannot, however, place a Partisan Base marker in a Region within a Conquered Allied Minor Country that has been ceded to Japan (13.3.2). For example, if the Inner Mongolia Region of Hopeh has become a Japanese Dependent, you wouldn’t be able to place Partisan Base marker in Inner Mongolia.
Example: Hopeh is a Conquered Western Minor Country, but the Soviet faction has an available Partisan Base marker and chooses to place it in that Country. In the Soviet Conditional Events Phase, Hopeh may be activated as a Soviet minor (16.5.1).
Partisan Base Placement Restrictions:
- A Partisan Base cannot be placed in a hex containing another Partisan Base marker or an enemy unit, Detachment, or Logistics marker.
- A Partisan Base cannot be placed in a hex containing an EZOC unless another friendly unit is in that hex.
- A Partisan Base cannot be placed in a Conquered Allied Minor Country containing an enemy Partisan Base.
Example: If there is a Soviet Partisan Base in Hopeh, the Western faction cannot place one in the country.
1.2.2.2 On-map Partisan Bases
If a Partisan Base is in a hex, the Allied faction may leave it there or remove it and place it in the Delay Box. The Allied faction may do this even if the hex contains an enemy unit or marker.
Placing a Partisan Base plants the seed of military insurgency that grows to fruition at the end of the Allied Turn. For example, the Western faction places a Partisan Base at the beginning of a Seasonal Turn and follows it up by reactivating the Minor Country (16.3.1) in the Conditional Events Segment of the same turn. When reactivated, the country’s Reserve unit is placed on the Partisan Base. The Partisan Base then serves as a Replacement Location where the Western player can bring in more replacements belonging to that country.
If the Axis faction occupies the Partisan Base, the marker can remain in that hex for the Axis player to garrison as long as the Western faction keeps it there. Furthermore, if all Cities and Partisan Bases in a country are occupied, that country once again becomes a Conquered Allied Minor Country, making it eligible to receive more Partisan Base markers! If you look at Yugoslavia, you see a lot of room to place Partisan Base markers and tie down Axis ground units on garrison duty
1.3 Replacements Segment
In its Replacements Segment, the phasing faction may receive Seasonal Replacements steps. Unless otherwise stated, all replacement steps received are cumulative.
Seasonal Replacements steps received in this Segment are received on Seasonal Turns only. Replacements received in Political Event or Conditional Event Segments can be received on any Turns in which they might occur.
1.3.1 Current Card Seasonal Replacements
The phasing faction may receive replacements as indicated on its Current Card, in the red box with the Replacements Segment heading.
Some option cards do not have a Replacements Segment box.
△ Communist Chinese Replacements: If a Soviet Option Card lists “Communist Chinese” replacements, it may use these for steps belonging to any Soviet Chinese Country.
△ Nationalist Chinese Replacements: If a Western Option Card lists “Nationalist Chinese” replacements, it may use these for steps belonging to any Western Chinese Country.
1.3.2 Additional Seasonal Replacements
The phasing faction may receive additional seasonal replacements if the following markers are in the Strategic Warfare Box or on the VP Track. These replacements are cumulative.
The additional replacements provided by these markers are printed in a circle. As with the square DRM notation, black means it applies to the Axis; green to the West; red to the Soviets; and white to any faction.
△ 1.3.2.1 Hakko Ichiu
If the Hakko Ichiu marker is on the VP Track and the VP marker reads Rising Sun, the Axis faction receives one Japanese infantry replacement step for each VP in the VP Track Box containing the VP marker. Additionally, the Axis faction receives one Japanese infantry replacement step for each VP in the VP Track Box containing the Hakko Ichiu marker itself.
If the Axis faction is entitled to more than one Hakko Ichiu infantry step in a Replacements Segment, it may exchange pairs of them for single Japanese armor steps instead.
The VP reads Rising Sun and is in the 1 VP Box. The Hakko Ichiu VP marker is in the 3 VP Box. The Axis player could take these four replacements as either four infantry steps, one armor step and two infantry steps, or two armor steps – Japanese units only!
△ 1.3.2.2 Japanese Mandate
If the Japanese Mandate marker is on the VP Track and the VP marker reads Rising Sun, the Axis faction receives one Japanese infantry replacement step for each VP in the VP Track Box containing the VP marker.
If the Axis faction is entitled to more than one Japanese Mandate infantry step in a Replacements Segment, it may exchange pairs of them for single Japanese armor steps instead.
1.3.2.3 Minor Country Production
If a faction’s Minor Country Production +1 marker is in the Strategic Warfare Box, that faction receives one Minor Country replacement step. If a faction’s Minor Country Production +2 marker is in the Strategic Warfare Box, that faction receives two Minor Country replacement steps.
△ 1.3.2.4 US Victory Program
If the US Victory Program marker is in the Strategic Warfare Box, the Western faction receives one US infantry replacement step.
1.3.3 Taking Replacements
Important: The following rules apply in any Segment a faction receives replacements. They are listed here for convenience.
Players cannot accumulate or save replacements. If a player cannot take all his replacement steps and place them on the map for any reason, the extra unplaced replacement steps are lost.
Replacements are taken from a Force Pool as one-step ground units of the nationality, number, and unit type received. A player cannot place multi-step units as replacements. Replacements are placed on the map per Placing Replacements (1.3.4).
Many one-step ground units are the reduced-strength sides of two-step army units. These one-step units are available to be taken as replacements. You’ll get to build them up to their full-strength two-step sides in the Organization Segment.
Force Pool Limitation: The one-step units in a faction’s Force Pool limit how many and what type of units can be taken as replacement steps. One-step units located anywhere else, such as in the Delay Box or on the Turn Track, cannot be taken as replacement steps.
Example: The Soviet faction receives 12 Russian infantry replacements, but only 10 one-step Russian infantry units are in the Soviet Force Pool. Two replacements are lost.
Unit-Type Limitation: Infantry replacements can be taken only as infantry-type units (airborne, cavalry, infantry, or marine – but not garrison). Armor replacements can be taken as either armor-type (armor or mechanized) or infantry-type units.
Example: Axis card 28b North Wind Cloudy states “Japan: 1 tank & 4 infantry steps” as Seasonal Replacements. The Axis player could receive 5 infantry steps instead.
△ Quit India Restriction: If the Axis Quit India marker is in the Strategic Warfare Box, the Western faction may not take British Ind colonial steps as replacements.
1.3.3.1 Minor Country Replacements
Unless specifically stated otherwise, a phasing faction may allocate its Minor Country replacements received to any Minor Country or Countries belonging to that faction. Exception: An Allied faction cannot allocate replacements to a Conquered Allied Minor Country.
Example: The Western faction receives two Western Minor Country replacements. If there are four Western Minor Countries, the player must decide which Minor Countries get these limited resources. Both replacements can go to the same Western Minor Country.
Unless specifically stated otherwise, each Minor Country replacement step received may be taken as an infantry-type or armor-type unit. If more than one replacement is received, both unit types may be taken in the same Segment.
1.3.3.2 Airborne and Marine Units
A player must use two infantry-type replacement steps to take a onestep airborne or marine unit as a replacement.
For single-nationality airborne units and marine units, both infantrytype replacement steps must be of the same nationality. For the multinational Western airborne unit, the Western faction must use one British and one US infantry replacement step.
Example: You can use two Russian infantry steps to receive one Russian airborne replacement step.
1.3.3.3 Garrison Units
Garrison units (2.3.2.3) cannot be taken as replacements. They can only be placed in the Organization Segment.
1.3.3.4 Elite Units
Elite units (2.3.4.3) can be taken as replacements.
1.3.3.5 Colonial Units
Colonial units can be taken as replacements, but they have placement restrictions (1.3.4). When an option card specifies replacements to be colonial steps, non-colonial steps cannot be taken instead.
Example: Western card 27 Commonwealth Support has a Conditional Event that specifies “Britain: 1 colonial infantry step.” The Western faction cannot take a non-colonial infantry step instead.
1.3.4 Placing Relacements
Important: The following rules apply in any Segment a faction receives replacements. They are listed here for convenience.
The owning player chooses where units are placed.
Unless otherwise restricted, any number of replacements can be placed in the same hex.
Remember that stacking limits (9.2) are enforced after every Phase and Segment, so don’t place too many units in the same hex because you’ll have to eliminate the excess.
Replacement Locations: Units can be placed in any or all of the following locations of the DS map as specified below. Placing one unit in a location – a City hex, for example – does not prohibit placing another unit in the same or a different location in the same Segment. Important: No matter which Replacement Location is stated in this section, a replacement unit cannot be placed in a hex that contains an enemy ground unit, support unit, Detachment, or Logistics marker.
- △ A non-colonial, non-Kwantung unit can be placed in a Home Country City hex.
- △ A non-colonial, non-Kwantung unit can be placed in any Home Country hex that contains a supplied HQ of the same nationality.
- △ A British non-colonial can be placed in the Europe/Africa Off- Map Box.
- △ A British colonial must be placed in a City hex in the proper Dependent or Off-Map Box identified below. The City must be under Western control.
Afr – Europe/Africa Box
Aus – Australia
Ind – India
NZ – New Zealand - A French colonial unit must be placed in a City in a French Dependent. The City must be under friendly control.
- △ A French non-colonial unit must be placed in the Europe/Africa Off-Map Box.
Remember that only Western units are allowed in the Europe/Africa Off-Map Box. So if France is an Axis or Soviet Minor Country, those factions will not be able to take French non-colonial replacements.
- △ A Japanese non-colonial, non-Kwantung unit can be placed in a hex containing the Axis IGHQ Logistics marker if it can trace a supply line to a supply source in Japan.
- △ A Japanese Kwantung unit can be placed in a hex containing the Axis Kwantung Logistics marker if it can trace a supply line to a supply source in Japan.
Note that this Logistics marker is the only location where Kwantung replacements can be placed in the game.
- △ A Japanese Col colonial unit must be placed in a City hex in any Japanese Dependent or Conquered Allied Country that contains a Japanese ground unit, Detachment, or Logistics marker.
- △ A Japanese Bur, Ind, or Rus colonial unit must be placed in a City hex in the Country or Dependent named as follows. The City must contain a Japanese ground unit, Detachment, or Logistics marker.
Bur - Burma
Ind - India
Rus - Russia or any Far East Region Japanese Dependent - A Minor Country unit can be placed in a Home Country hex that contains a Partisan Base marker.
- A Russian unit can be placed in the hex containing the Soviet Logistics marker if it can trace an overland supply line to a supply source in Russia or a Soviet Off-Map Box.
- △ A Russian unit can be placed in the Eastern Europe Box.
- △ A US non-colonial unit can be placed in the Western US Off- Map Box.
- △ A US Phil colonial unit must be placed in a City in the Philippines. The City must be under Western control.
- △ A US unit can be placed in the hex containing a Western Logistics marker if it can trace a supply line to the Western US Off-Map Box.
- The Western Airborne unit may be placed as either a British or US unit.
Be sure to garrison Cities in an enemy country to prevent enemy replacements from appearing in them. It’s trouble to have enemy replacements popping up behind your lines.