9. Stacking

Two or more counters in the same hex are called a stack. Placing more than one friendly unit in the same hex is called stacking.

Stacking restrictions and limits apply only to hexes. Any number or combination of friendly ground units can exist together in an Off-Map Box.

9.1 Stacking Restrictions

An HQ unit cannot stack with another HQ.

A Fortress unit cannot stack with another Fortress.

Ground units of different Minor Countries cannot stack together. Exception: One-step Exp units can stack with any other units of the same faction.

Clarification

Similar to the rule regarding attacks made with Minor Country units, a stack may include any of that faction’s Major Country units, any of one Minor Country’s units, and finally any Exp units from other Minor Countries.

9.2 Stacking Limits

Only friendly ground units in a hex count toward stacking limits. All other counters in that hex do not count.

If a hex or Beachhead marker contains a Limited Stacking symbol (see Terrain Key) in it, up to three ground units with a total of three steps between them can be stacked in that hex.

In all other hexes, up to three ground units with a total of six steps between them can be stacked in the same hex.

Important: Stacking limits are enforced for all factions and all hexes at the end of every Phase and Segment.

Any stack in excess of three ground units or that hex’s allowable number of steps is overstacked. If a hex is overstacked or contains units that violate Stacking Restrictions, the owning faction must eliminate sufficient steps (4.2.6.2) to bring that hex into compliance with stacking limits.

Clarification

You are free to violate stacking limits during any Phase or Segment, but you will pay the penalty at the end. In some cases, especially during Retreats, you may have no option but to violate stacking limits.

Stacking limits occasionally force you to plan ahead too. For example, say the Western player is trying to liberate a Conquered Country (16.3.1) with some Minor Country non-Exp units. He may be better off not using Advance After Combat into the liberated City or Capital, because if he does so, he won’t be able to receive the Minor Country’s 0-1-2 Res infantry unit in the hex when the Minor Country reactivates during the Conditional Events Segment.

Design Note

About stacking limits and Beachhead markers: you may notice that a Beachhead can have a stacking limit of six steps, even when it’s being used to attack an island like Malta with a stacking limit of three steps. That might seem odd, but in World War II, the determined amphibious attacker generally had the advantage – the majority of these assaults eventually succeeded. Thus, the Beachhead’s extra stacking limit represents the attacker’s additional logistical support committed to make the invasion succeed.

Also keep in mind that, after the defender is overwhelmed, the attacker will be limited in the number of steps he can actually move ashore. Those extra steps that remain on the Beachhead marker will have to be convoyed out of there, or the player will have to use another Support unit to keep the Beachhead afloat. Either way, he has to devote extra resources “above and beyond” the initial invasion force to keep those guys in the game.